About AAR

In January 1980, an inaugural meeting of the ASEAN radiologists took place in Manila, Philippines. Various representatives of the ASEAN countries agreed to form an ASEAN Association of Radiologists (AAR). The first President of the AAR was Dr GaniIylas from Indonesia and the Secretary was Dr H K Boey from Singapore.

The AAR biennial meeting is held in ASEAN countries on a rotational basis.

1st Congress, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 30th October-1st November 1980
2nd Congress, Jakarta, Indonesia, 12th -14th August 1982
3rd Congress, Manila, Philippines, 12th -15th December 1984
4th Congress, Singapore, 7th-9th August 1986
5th Congress, Bangkok, Thailand, 16th-18th November 1988
6th Congress, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, August 1990
7th Congress, Bali, Indonesia, September 3rd -6th, 1992
8th Congress, Manila, Philippines, 6th -7th January 1995
9th Congress, Singapore, 23rd – 26th January 1997
10th Congress, Bangkok, Thailand 23rd -25th March 2000
11th Congress, Bali, Indonesia, 4th- 7th September 2002
12th Congress, Penang, Malaysia16th -19th September 2004
13th Congress, Manila, Philippines 18th- 21st January 2006
14th Congress, Hanoi, Vietnam, September 21st - 23rd, 2008.
15th Congress, Singapore 18th -21st May 2011
16th Congress, Bangkok, Thailand, 21st -23rd March 2013
17th Congress, Bali, Indonesia, 8th -9th May 2015
18th Congress, Kula Lumpur, Malaysia, 28th-30th September 2017
19th Congress, Singapore 16th -17th August 2019

Member countries
Founding members: Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand
Current additional members: Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Vietnam

Current executive board members
President: Dr. ANDREW TAN (Singapore)
President –Elect:  TBA
Secretary – General: TBA (Singapore)
Treasurer: TBA (Singapore)
Immediate Past President: Dr. AMIR FUAD HUSSAIN (Malaysia)
Representative from Next Congress Organizing committee: TBA


Current Office
Head of Secretariat office: Dr. CHAMAREE CHUAPETCHARASOPON (Thailand)
ASEAN Association of Radiology
9th floor, Royal Golden Jubilee Building,
2 SoiSoonvijai 1, New Petchaburi Road,
HuayKwang, Bangkok, 10310
Tel: +66-2716-6583
Fax: +66-2716-5964
E mail:



Past Conferences

The AAR biennial meeting is held in ASEAN countries on a rotational basis.